Fast, easy and free

Create your website now

I create my website

UK Immigration Tips

Different Types of UK Visas

The UK is probably one of the most sought after destinations for various reasons. Most people go to the UK for leisure. There are a lot of sights and activities that lure flocks of tourists each year. But there's more to the place than tourism alone. The country offers a lot of opportunities for businessmen, professionals and even students. It is also one of the most popular choices for families who seek greener pasture.


If you want to get a UK visa and apply for British citizenship, you have to be aware of the different types of visa that they offer.


Now that you know the different types of Ancestry visa, you can choose which one would best suit your qualifications and your purpose. The UK government has currently implemented a points system to determine immigration status. They have also set different tiers that would have a different set of application requirements. In turn they also enjoy different set of privileges if approved.


Tier 1 Visa- this tier is reserved for highly skilled professionals, businessmen, entrepreneurs and students who want to pursue post-graduate studies in the UK.


Tier 2 Visa- the skilled workers, athletes and professionals in the field of sports fall under this tier. Religious workers like members of the clergy are also given Tier 2 general visas if their services are required by an organization in the UK for a long period of time.


Tier 3 Visa- this tier is for those workers who are hired for a specific period of time only to fill the temporary shortage in human resources. This tier however, has not yet been implemented.


Tier 4 Visa- this slot is reserved for students. This is equivalent to a general student visa. As long as you are above 16 years of age and have been offered a slot in a certain school, and you meet the eligibility requirements, you can apply for a tier 4 visa.


Tier 5 Visa- this type of visa is given to those who are planning to stay for a shorter term. Volunteers for different causes and civic organizations can apply for this type of visa. The clergy as well as workers who are covered by the working holiday agreements are also given a tier 5 visa.


Though each tier has its own set of qualifications, there are also some general eligibility requirements. Foremost of which is the ability to communicate in English effectively. You have to pass their qualifying test before you can pursue your application.